Daily Archives: June 2, 2009

Worlds Ugliest Dog Competition!

So, I just came across one of the winners of the Worlds Ugliest Dog Competition, held in Pentaluma, CA. Probably one of the coolest competitions I have seen as far as dogs go because they really are cute when you get down to it…

This little guy, for instance:uglydogHis name is Elwood, and he looks like the cute, dog version of a gremlin. I think he is awesome!

Apparently many of the winners are Chinese-Cresteds and some have a little Chihuahua mixed in there for good measure. The thing that really lured me over there was this website, http://www.uglyarchie.com/, where I read this amazing quote that totally caught me off guard:

“Even Chinese crested owners are a little taken aback when they find out one of their precious babies could someday evolve into the hairless sausage I have at the end of my leash.”

Which is a hilarious quote to go along with some other hilarious stories she has about her dog. Here is a picture of Archie that I got off of their website:justinsullivan1

One of the best parts of these dogs is that their tongues seem to always hang out of the side of their mouths to accentuate their asymmetricality (not sure if that is a word, but it seems to work here).

Here is a question for you… What if the Obamas had gotten a Chinese-Crested like this? Do you think they would have experienced a surge like for Portuguese Water Dogs? I know I want one now!

So, if you’re in or around Pentaluma, California, check out their Sonoma-Marin Fair and say hi to all the little guys for us!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized